Illinois Landlord Tenant Law and Regulations

Leases – A lease may be written or oral. Oral leases are only permitted if the term is less than one year

Lease Term – A lease may have an unspecified term like a month to month, and must be ended by notice. A lease may also be for a specific amount of time, like one year, one month, etc.

Ending a lease – With regards to a fixed term lease, unless otherwise specified in the lease, the tenant shall move out when the rental agreement ends. 30 Days notice is required for month to month leases and 60 days notice is required for year to year leases. Weekly leases require a 7 Days notice. A landlord is not required to give any reason to terminate a lease.

Security Deposit There are no statutory limitations placed on the maximum amount for a security deposit but there are several municipalities in Illinois that have comprehensive Landlord-Tenant Statutes. Landlords should contact an attorney or the city agency in which his or her rental building is located to determine municipal-specific statutory limitations.

Massachusetts Landlord Tenant Law and Regulations

What is the maximum amount I can collect as a security deposit?
The security deposit cannot exceed more than one months' worth of rent.

What are there requirements for security deposits or any other pre-paid deposits?
A landlord can only require a tenant to pay for the following items upon moving in: first month's rent last month's rent a security deposit of no more than one month's rent the cost of buying and installing a new lock If the landlord requires a security deposit, then the tenant must be given a written statement of condition within 10 days of receiving the money. This statement must list all damages that exist in the apartment and in all common areas prior to the tenant moving in. Once the tenant receives the statement, the tenant has 15 days to either agree with the conditions, or personally prepare a list of damages.

A Smoke-Free Rental Property: Is It Possible to Prohibit Smoking in Your Rental Property?

According to the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), secondhand smoke is a carcinogen that causes approximately 3,000 lung cancer deaths each year in U.S. nonsmokers. Children are even more susceptible to the effects of secondhand smoke because they are still developing. Those that are exposed to high levels of the carcinogen have the greatest chance of developing asthma, pneumonia, bronchitis and middle ear infections. These discoveries have prompted a growing number of renters to seek out smoke-free housing, so as to prevent the health risks of secondhand smoke. But is the increasing demand profitable enough for landlords to turn their rental properties into non-smoking zones, and is the conversion so difficult as to not be worth the profit? These are questions that need to be considered before taking any such action.
A basic definition of smoke-free housing, according to David Sacks, a partner with…

New Jersey Landlord Tenant Law and Regulations

Are there rent control/rent stabilization policies or laws in New Jersey?
More than 100 cities and townships in New Jersey have passed rent control ordinances. To find out if your city or township has rent control, please contact your city or township hall.

Is it a requirement for landlords to file a certificate of registration for their rental property?
According to -N.J.S.A. 46:8-28, every landlord of a dwelling, except owner-occupied properties with no more than 2 rental units, must file a certificate of registration with the clerk of the municipality in which the residential property is situated, or with the Bureau of Housing Inspection in the Department of Community Affairs. Please also note, if a landlord plans to file for eviction and has not registered with the township in which the dwelling is located, the court has no legal power to evict until the landlord has complied with the law. Furthermore, if the landlord registration statement is not filed, the landlord can be fined up to $500.

Minnesota Landlord Tenant Law and Regulations

Are there rent control/rent stabilization policies or laws in Minnesota?
The state of Minnesota has not established rent control or stabilization practices.

What special rules are there regarding rental applications?
According to 504B.173 of the Minnesota Landlord Tenant Laws, the following are important points to know with regards to rental applications. Additionally, the landlord should be very familiar with the Fair Housing Laws as well as the Fair Credit Reporting Act. There is a limit to the number of applicant screening fees. A landlord or the landlord's agent may not charge an applicant a screening fee when the landlord knows or should have known that no rental unit is available at that time. A landlord or agent must return the screening fee amount that was not used to perform a tenant screening report, consumer credit report, or personal reference check. The screening fee may be mailed to the tenant or retrieved by pick up. If payment was made by check, it may be destroyed upon the request of the applicant.