Arkansas Landlord Tenant Law and Regulations

Are there rent control/rent stabilization policies or laws in Arkansas?
The state of Arkansas has not established rent control or stabilization practices.

What is the maximum amount I can collect as a security deposit?

Arkansas regulates the security deposit when:
(1) A landlord/Owner owns partially or totally, at least five dwelling units which are rented to members of the public, OR
(2) The rental unit is managed by someone else other than the owner, (the number of units does not come into question here) then Arkansas law regulations of the security deposit are followed.
In such conditions, the security deposit may not exceed an amount in excess of 2 month's rent or 2 times the periodic rent. **For landlords that do not meet the conditions specified above, the security deposit would be regulated by the written lease. It is fair to say that all landlords should try and be reasonable so to stay out of court.

Iowa Landlord Tenant Law and Regulations

How much can I charge for rent?
Iowa doesn’t limit the amount of rent a landlord is permitted to charge. Therefore a landlord may charge whatever he feels desirable. Additionally, the state of Iowa has not introduced rent control or stabilization.

May I charge an application fee, late rent charge or a returned payment fee and are there limits to these fees?
Reasonable cost should always be kept in mind when initiating any charges. The maximum allowed by law in Iowa for a late charge is $40 a month and no more that $10 per day. However, the maximum fee that may be charged for a dishonored payment is $30, provided it is specified within the lease or posted conspicuously. Iowa Code § 554.3512

Are there any regulations regarding the security deposit?

New Fire Alarm Notice and Tenant Fire Safety Amendment Requirements for District of Columbia

New Fire Alarm Notice and Tenant Fire Safety Amendment Requirements for District of Columbia

(Washington, DC) – Below is the sample notice required by Section 2 of the Fire Alarm Notice and Tenant Fire Safety Amendment Emergency/Temporary Act (as a convenience, we’ve also included a version in Spanish).

Pursuant to the Act, owners of buildings with two or more dwelling or rooming units shall:

1. Provide written notice, in a language delineated by the Language Access Act of 2004, to each tenant by first-class mail;
2. Post the same notice in conspicuous places in common areas of the building; and 3. Maintain a fire safety plan. The notice below is the default notice that would comply with the requirements in Section 2. Owners can modify the default notice to reflect whether the fire alarm systems in their individual buildings are connected to the Fire Department. However, the notice would have to include, at a minimum: instructions on the operation of the building fire alarm; whether the alarm is separate from smoke alarms in individual units; a statement that the building alarm is not necessarily connected to DC Fire and Emergency Medical Services

Missouri Landlord Tenant Law and Regulations

Are there rent control/rent stabilization policies or laws in Missouri?
The state of Missouri has not established rent control or stabilization.

May I charge an application fee, late rent charge or a returned payment fee?
Reasonable cost should always be kept in mind when initiating any charges. There are no restrictions or limits placed on the collection of a late charge or application fee. However, a fee not to exceed $25, plus an amount equal to the actual charge by the depository institution is permitted for the return of each unpaid or dishonored instrument. Mo. Rev. Stat. § 570.120

What is the maximum amount I can collect as a security deposit and can I charge a refundable pet deposit over and above the maximum security deposit limit?
The security deposit may not exceed an amount greater than two month’s rent. There is no limit on a pet deposit, assuming that it is designated as such and detailed separately within the lease.

Ohio Landlord Tenant Law and Regulations

How much can I charge for rent?
Ohio does not restrict the amount of rent a landlord is permitted to charge. Therefore, a landlord may charge whatever he feels necessary. Additionally, the state of Ohio has not established rent control or stabilization.

May I charge an application fee, late rent charge, or a returned payment fee?
Reasonable cost should always be kept in mind when instituting any charges. There are no limits placed on the amount a landlord may charge for an application fee or a late payment. However, a landlord should not charge a fee so high that it calls into question the fairness of the fee if challenged in court. Assessed fees for a returned check may not exceed $30 or 10% of the face amount of the instrument, whichever is greater, plus the amount of any fees charged to the holder of the check by any financial institution as a result of the check not being honored. Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 1319.16